#1 Tatty18

Tatty18

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Member: 899870

Posted 14 June 2020 - 23:04

Hi there,

I'm wondering if anyone know of any book with lists of chord progressions. I'm not looking for the theoretical understanding as I'm a music teacher. I just wonder if there's a book out there with chord progressions which I can use for an improvisation class (I just want an easy reference I can refer to and quickly choose from, as the class is quite complex in other areas) - so lots of chord progressions without all the bumff about what a chord is and how to form the 7th etc etc

I've scoured Amazon and to be honest it seems quite a poor selection.

Also I'd be interested in any books which contain tips for LH patterns for improvisation (piano is about my 5th instrument so i am quite limited)

Many thanks for any suggestions.

Alison

#2 BadStrad

BadStrad

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4236 posts
  • Member: 88756

Posted 15 June 2020 - 00:12

I'm guessing you are attending the class as a student and are looking for some background reading before class so as not to "go in cold." Is there a particular style of improvisation (eg jazz) that you're interested in/that the class is aiming towards? Or why not wait and see if there is a recommended text.

#3 Tatty18

Tatty18

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Member: 899870

Posted 15 June 2020 - 11:58

Sorry I should have explained, I'm a teacher looking for suggestions for new books to use. Need a quick reference to have ready made chord progressions at hand. I use just make them up, but I won't have the time to do this with this class.

Thanks

#4 LoneM

LoneM

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 599 posts
  • Member: 894763

Posted 16 June 2020 - 10:55