vron

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Member: 898525
  • South Shropshire

Posted 28 March 2020 - 15:18

The present situation has made me have another think about getting an alto flute. Life is too short and too precious to waste so let's embrace it and do what we have been hankering to do for a  while (within reason  :) ) 

So I have decided I would like an alto flute and I am wondering if anyone who owns one can comment on what make and model they have and anything they have found easy or hard with it. For reference I have been playing a concert  flute for just over 3 years and approaching grade 5 standard - I would have been entering for exam in the summer although that is obviously on hold for now.

I was looking at a few models and saw a Pearl and noted one comment said it didn't have a Bb left thumb lever . is that Common? Any other things to note?

Thanks

#2 Bagpuss

Bagpuss

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3290 posts
  • Member: 371

Posted 28 March 2020 - 16:38

I have a bargain-basement Just Flutes alto and it's perfectly adequate.  Makes a crackingly good sound (or maybe that's down to the operator of said flute?!  Lol)

Bx

#3 ellie_the_little_elephant

ellie_the_little_elephant

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • Member: 45895
  • Manchester

Posted 28 March 2020 - 21:31

I have a Trevor James performer alto and love it. Weirdly I found that I can’t get a sound out of a curved headjoint but a straight one is fine, so despite me being only 5’3 I have a straight headjoint alto. My TJ does have a Bb thumb lever.
Good luck with your decision!

#4 vron

vron

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • South Shropshire

Posted 29 March 2020 - 09:00

thank you both. I will keep in mind your brands.