fied

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Member: 383974
  • Scotland

Posted 18 October 2019 - 22:10

I started playing the flute at 72 and have been playing for 4 years. It's going well, if slowly, reaching around Grade 3-4 now. Though it takes longer to learn the older you get, it's not to the point that you get fed up with the slower process. It also helped that I play other instruments - learned when I was a lot, lot younger. I'd encourage all 'oldies' to go for it.

But the key issue for me is a good teacher. Mine's young, Hungarian, studying for her MA and is playing and teaching professionally. She's studying and working in Weimar and Jena at the moment, so we have to Skype, though that's no great difficulty for teaching quality for either of us. When she's over in Glasgow we have face-to-face lessons. She's great, doesn't go on about my mistakes much, just endlessly and patiently corrects them, goes for consolidation of all aspects of playing a great deal, is hugely encouraging and a thoroughly nice person. Mind you, she has eyes like a hawk, doesn't stop making me work, has high musical standards, lots of musical knowledge and experience, is an excellently 'pushy' teacher in the nicest possible way and treats me like her favourite granny. I've made a friend as well as found a good teacher. I'm lucky and so glad to have found her through the Glasgow Conservatoire.

#2 Doodle

Doodle

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 344 posts
  • Member: 889296

Posted 19 October 2019 - 09:53

What a lovely post!  I'm so happy to read how much you're enjoying your lessons - and I hope your teacher knows how much you do too. :)

#3 vron

vron

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Member: 898525

Posted 19 October 2019 - 10:00

totally agree with the sentiments.