pianist-matt

• Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Member: 93853
  • Dorset, United Kingdom

Posted 27 October 2016 - 16:37

Hi,

I am a classically trained pianist with four years of undergraduate study under my belt.

I'm really keen to explore Jazz piano and would like suggestions of any good books I could begin with.

Thanks

#2 jelly roll harris

jelly roll harris

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 362 posts
  • Member: 284834

Posted 28 October 2016 - 08:05

I've found that, although there are many books aimed at jazz pianists, very few of them actually hit the spot.

I've picked up most tips from youtube, actually. I like Kent Hewitt, Jazzedge, 7 note mode, DantheComposer, and many more.

Good luck.

I think Dominic Aldiss (sp)? has produced a book aimed specifically at classical pianists wanting to explore jazz.

#3 Jo0425

Jo0425

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Member: 27227
  • Near London

Posted 28 October 2016 - 13:59

I had the Dominic Aldiss book for years, and never made any headway with it, as I found it too dry.  Would recommend Tim Richards series of books; maybe you could start with Exploring Jazz Piano 1. There's a CD to play along with and the new concepts are introduced with actual pieces/ standards.

But - what really made things begin to click with me was attending some jazz piano evening classes and seeing others put all the theory into practice.

#4 jpiano

jpiano

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2187 posts
  • Member: 1270

Posted 28 October 2016 - 17:58