#1 ten left thumbs

ten left thumbs

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 831 posts
  • Member: 454622

Posted 18 November 2014 - 17:51

I make my living now as a piano teacher, I also took up trumpet again (had played as a child) within the last year. I've been finding trumpet really challenging and decided to get myself a teacher. I think my brass teacher seriously over-estimates my ability on trumpet and I'm not sure how to deal with it.

My problems are (guess what?) upper range and stamina and his position is basically that these aren't problems. He'll assign me something I can't play, I try, I practice, a month later, I still can't play it - and I'm not quite sure where this leaves me. He tries super hard to be encouraging and optimistic - he would rather I go for a note and fluff it than not try. I'm fine with trying. I don't like to say 'I can't' - but I really can't! I can't play a high A. 

I'm wondering if it's a known technique among brass teachers - just be super encouraging and optimistic and keep them at it and they'll improve? Or if I'm being particularly hard on myself as I know fine well which note I didn't play (ignorance is bliss). Or if he's confusing me for a much better player on account of the fact I'll play an etude in F#maj and not complain about the E#'s. 

Would appreciate thoughts, especially from brass teachers.

#2 violinlove

violinlove

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 615 posts
  • Member: 381238

Posted 18 November 2014 - 18:20

My problems are (guess what?) upper range and stamina and his position is basically that these aren't problems. He'll assign me something I can't play, I try, I practice, a month later, I still can't play it - and I'm not quite sure where this leaves me. He tries super hard to be encouraging and optimistic - he would rather I go for a note and fluff it than not try. I'm fine with trying. I don't like to say 'I can't' - but I really can't! I can't play a high A.