3 replies to this topic

#1 Abs335

Abs335

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Member: 887886

Posted 05 February 2014 - 21:26

Hi, I'm a student and I am currently working on my grade 8 on the viola. I bought my current instrument in a kit (including the viola, case and bow) for around £300. It's a fairly decent viola and it has seen me through since grade 4, but I was wondering if it is time for an upgrade, as I feel I am now stretching the limits of what it can do. Can anyone give me any advice; is it worth getting a new viola, or maybe just a new bow? If so, how much should I invest in it?
Thanks!

#2 elidatrading

elidatrading

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2083 posts
  • Member: 2043
  • Huddersfield

Posted 06 February 2014 - 11:44

Only you can really answer this one.  If you feel it's holding you back, and particularly if you want to go further, then start looking for a better viola.  You will almost certainly be wanting a better bow anyway so one option would be to look to upgrade the bow now and then take the bow with you, so to speak, when you upgrade the viola.

Liz

#3 BadStrad

BadStrad

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4056 posts
  • Member: 88756

Posted 07 February 2014 - 09:07

Violin not Viola, but this approach - bow then instrumemt - worked well for me

#4 RoseRodent

RoseRodent

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3003 posts
  • Member: 76503
  • Scotland

Posted 07 February 2014 - 18:21

I would say decide on your absolute maximum budget, then arrange an appointment with a string shop and ask them to get out: 

A: bows up to an including your maximum spend

B: instruments up to and including your maximum spend

C: a combination of instruments and bows where you could buy both without seriously blowing your budget.