Photo

SATB choir - independant voicing prominence.

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 shawn

shawn

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Member: 88749

Posted 01 January 2020 - 09:57

Finally I have joined the choir, and how excellent it is.  I'm a novice bass, and was curious about my vocal prominence amongst the other voices.  My piano teacher did tell me once that when voicing a chord at the piano, the upper most (Soprano) should be loudest followed by bass, and alto and tenor fill in between presumably with the same prominence.

Who knows anything about this, because i really don't want to ruin the harmony.

#2 Latin pianist

Latin pianist

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3967 posts
  • Member: 711500
  • Cotswolds

Posted 01 January 2020 - 10:33

A good choir leader will be able to balance the parts. Usually the sopranos are the prominent part but of course all the other voices get their turn at the melody at some point. The choir leader will encourage the right volume of each part. And no one voice in a part should stand out. This can be tactfully dealt with although not all conductors are tactful!

#3 shawn

shawn

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 01 January 2020 - 11:29

Thanks for the quick response.

Yes tactful !, So far so good.

You say no part should stand out - I wonder if i'm over thinking my part, but looking into Bass guitar theory, and the Baroque figured bass etc, there seems to be special emphasis and importance on the bass part as the foundation of the harmony, what advise could you share in this respect please.

#4 Latin pianist

Latin pianist

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3967 posts
  • Member: 711500
  • Cotswolds

Posted 01 January 2020 - 11:37

I meant that one person's voice shouldn't be prominent in a part.

#5 shawn

shawn

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 01 January 2020 - 12:05

I understand, thankyou for your reply.  

#6 BadStrad

BadStrad

Virtuoso

• Members