21 replies to this topic

#1 geek123

geek123

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Member: 901142

Posted 14 January 2022 - 13:37

Hello, I am just starting out in music theory and would be most grateful if someone can explain the following to me. I do know that a minor scale starts on the sixth note of its relative major / A minor starts on the A of C major / My question is why does it start on A and not another note. To you who know this may seem a silly question and the answer I am sure is obvious but I have looked at this for some time and cannot find an answer so thank you all in advance.

#2 Edwardo

Edwardo

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 877 posts
  • Member: 4759
  • Gloucestershire

Posted 14 January 2022 - 14:47

Or you could wonder instead why the relative major begins on the third of the minor scale ...

#3 Hildegard

Hildegard

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2294 posts
  • Member: 887389

Posted 14 January 2022 - 15:33

The simplest form of minor scale (the natural minor) has exactly the same notes as its relative major if it starts on note 6 of the major scale.

MAJOR  CDEFGABCDEFGABC

MINOR               ABCDEFGABCDEFG

The same applies in all keys.

#4 fsharpminor

fsharpminor

Maestro

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19134 posts
  • Member: 7089
  • Heswall, Wirral (originally Keighley, Yorks)

Posted 14 January 2022 - 16:38

Yes don't forget there are Melodic, Harmonic, and Natural (as Hildgard posted) Minor scales.  

I think Harmonics turn up most commonly in compositions, but you need to know Melodics as well for exams, and for theory. Noturals arent quite so important.

#5 maggiemay

maggiemay

Maestro

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20625 posts
  • Member: 413
  • S E England

Posted 14 January 2022 - 17:36

Noturals arent quite so important.

Hmm - not sure. I think it would depend who you ask.