#1 peterhontaru

peterhontaru

• Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Member: 899767

Posted 26 September 2019 - 22:52

Hi everyone,

Thought I'd introduce myself - I'm Peter and started playing piano in Jan 2018 after I pretty much considered it for most of my life but did not take up on it, mainly due to lack of finance (been a student most my life) as well as silly excuses like "if you did not start when you were young..."

However, I decided to take up group lessons soon after I graduated university and got a full time job. I then took up group lessons for a year and as of Jan 2019, started taking up piano lessons via Skype (works better than I would've thought).

Considering that I just managed to put together a video of my first year last week, I thought it would be fitting to share my progress from the beginning to the end of 2018, just after I took the ABRSM grade 3 exam (managed to receive distinction). It would show more than I would be able to tell in words.

*on a second thought, I removed the link as I wouldn't want people to think I'm here to promote myself. If you're really interested, PM me*

I am now working to prepare for ABRSM grade 5 which I will be taking mid November and also doing some live amateur recitals which I really enjoy. I have finished learning the pieces but definitely need to brush up on them since I'm hopefully aiming for a high mark.

Please do let me me know if there's anyone else taking Grade 5 this year - would love to chat with you.

#2 Ligneo Fistula

Ligneo Fistula

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1401 posts
  • Member: 529803
  • United Kingdom

Posted 27 September 2019 - 05:48

Hi Peter and welcome.  Congratulations on your seemingly very successful journey (certainly puts me to shame!).  Well done on your excellent grade 3 result and no doubt for your planned grade 5! :clap:

#3 corenfa

corenfa

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6175 posts
  • Member: 95861
  • Here

Posted 27 September 2019 - 06:56