#1 ten left thumbs

ten left thumbs

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Member: 454622

Posted 04 March 2016 - 14:43

The parents of a young student I have been teaching for 3 years now has asked if he can be put forward for an exam. He is nowhere near ready for grade 1, I do often put students forward for LCM preprep when this happens. But this particular kid is different. 

He still shows strong left right confusion. He bangs the keys just as hard as he can. More importantly he demonstrates little sense of pulse while he plays. This is what I am most worried about. It's not that he has no sense of pulse - he does. He just can't do anything to steady pulse. Instead he 'buffers'. He'll think hard about what he's about to do, then does it at breakneck speed. Gets through so many notes. Stops to think about the next bit. 

It has been 3 long hard years and amazingly we have made progress. I have not insisted on getting things 'correct' before moving on, or we'd still be on the same page we were 3 years ago. Instead I keep going and have moved sideways more times than I can count. He seems to really enjoy piano. His mum has been happy to keep going when I've told her, 'look, this really is slow.' We're on Alfred's Premier 1B and he does hands together, knows the notes and plays them.

My question is this - in the experience of other teachers here, does he have a chance at LCM preprep? Is there something else I haven't thought of?

#2 lingle

lingle

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1222 posts
  • Member: 240724

Posted 04 March 2016 - 16:26

I don't know but he sounds fun and your sound like a lovely teacher.

I'm in my third year of teaching a little girl. She's just started to play with an independent measured pulse. We aren't doing grades (it's a different sort of lesson) so I've been free to watch her just reach this point naturally.....