corenfa

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6739 posts
  • Member: 95861
  • Here

Posted 23 February 2011 - 21:01

I am a pianist. I can comfortably make an octave and just about manage a ninth. Despite this I persist in thinking that I can learn things with lots and lots of big chords and octaves in them blink.gif How successfully, it still remains to be seen.

So I am starting this to write down what kludges tricks techniques I have learnt to get by. They might be wrong! In which case I look forward to hearing about how I can correct them.

Consecutive octaves in one hand - I can only manage these comfortably by playing on the edge of the keys. Thus, any passages alternating black and white keys result in having to move my hand a different distance for the same musical interval (eg. A-G-F#-E, I have to move what seems like twice the distance for F#-E as I do from A-G).

Big arpeggios - I have to move my whole arm from the shoulder and do what seems to me to be really extreme elbow movements. sometimes I wonder if I am going to take my own eye out..

p.s. even if you just want to whinge here about having small hands, feel free biggrin.gif

#2 Alicia Ocean

Alicia Ocean

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2371 posts
  • Member: 10842
  • Teacher of Piano and Flute

Posted 23 February 2011 - 22:14

I can reach an octave in both hands. More easily in my left hand than right - and consecutive octaves in the right hand is a non-starter. Also there's various arrangements of notes I can't reach - for example a right hand 2nd which involves a black and a white note with a 7th at the same time.

#3 JoannaB

JoannaB

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Member: 28767
  • SW London

Posted 24 February 2011 - 10:48