#1 barkel

barkel

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Member: 899783

Posted 03 February 2021 - 22:38

Hello to recorder players out there,

I thought it might be interesting to open a topic where we can discuss our experiences of different makes and models of wooden recorders. I know when I started out, it all seemed so overwhelming to see not just the number of makers but all of the different models.

What makes one model different to another, why is that one so much more expensive than this one and so on.

I am by no means an expert, but I have been fortunate enough to have been able to try a few out that I can share my experiences with you. But I won't bombard you with everything at once!

The topic that I would open with is my experience of finger spacings. All hands are different and so it seems are the spacings of finger holes on recorders. This has never bothered me with sopranos since there is no stretching and every one I have played I have managed to find the holes without problem.

It's when I progress to the alto size that I have noticed that some recorders I get on with and others I don't. The three holes in particular that I have noticed variations in are, the thumb hole, and the lowest two holes.

I won't go into Tenors now, but suffice to say, for me it's either "Comfort" Tenor or NO Tenor!

I guess that some of you will say that if you stick to one recorder long enough, you will get used to where the holes are. While I am sure there is a lot of truth in this, I feel that there is also an aspect of finding a recorder where the hole spacings feel more natural to the shape of your hand.

For simplicity, I will refer to the holes as (I am assuming a right handed player):

0 - thumb hole

1 - 3 - left hand top three holes going downwards

4 - 7 - right hand 

8 - bell hole

Regarding the hole 0, I have found some recorders seem to have this higher up and I keep missing it. Has anyone else experienced this and with which makes/models?