Photo

Theory Workbooks by Anna Butterworth - Still Current?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Dr. Rogers

Dr. Rogers

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Member: 898997

Posted 10 June 2019 - 14:25

Question: Are the Theory Workbooks by Anna Butterworth still current for the ABRSM theory exams, or have they been superseded by Music Theory in Practice?

I am studying for ABRSM G6 theory, hoping to take the exam in November.  I am working through Harmony in Practice (chords out the wazoo!), and recently picked up Butterworth's Grade 6 Theory Workbook.  But I'm wondering if I should have purchased Grade 6 Music Theory in Practice instead.

Thoughts?  Other recommendations?

#2 Hildegard

Hildegard

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1133 posts
  • Member: 887389

Posted 10 June 2019 - 16:58

Music Theory in Practice is very out of date - even when it first came out it wasn't particularly well focused on the exams.

#3 Crock

Crock

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Member: 288071
  • South West

Posted 11 June 2019 - 11:22

Yes the Theory Workbooks by Anna Butterworth (and I think co-authors) are still current (Grades 6-8) and I think are very good.  There are some very useful explanations of how to approach the harmony and the composition questions and there are excellent examples worked through in detail in a way I haven't found anywhere else.

They are more useful than the Music Theory in Practice (although these are not formally out of date for Grades 6-8, since the syllabus for these higher Grades hasn't changed) simply because the style and the way of writing of these  Music Theory in Practice books is not particularly helpful in tackling the questions.