Photo

What's your experience of the ABRSM recently?

Customer Communication

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 sheephops

sheephops

• Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Member: 896031
  • Warwickshire

Posted 28 October 2019 - 11:26

Morning all, 

This is a bit of a moan, so please, bear with me or please don't read.

Sometimes our jobs as teachers don't always go smoothly  - and often the things that make teaching and learning difficult are not the students, it's the agencies that we work with. I'm an experienced teacher (classroom and instrumental) and I have entered exams myself and taught using all sorts of exam boards. Recently I feel that the ABRSM is not offering us the best service and this is solely from personal experience. I'm just wondering if I've been unlucky or whether this is a bit of trend that others are observing.

Examples;

An adult student enters for G8 thirty years after her last exam. G5 theory is on a green form and all necessary certification and ID is emailed to the board in a timely way within hours of the requests for more info. Results come through and this candidate's results are missing. I leave it a few days then contact the board. They say they are missing the necessary documents. I say they're in their inbox and have been for weeks. Results arrive within minutes.