7 replies to this topic

#1 [email protected]

[email protected]

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Member: 900955

Posted 24 August 2021 - 13:54

I recently visited a church with a digital organ and asked to give a (polite) opinion.  After a few minutes, I was convinced that something was seriously wrong, but all became clear once i worked out that the lower of two manuals was the swell, and the upper was the great organ.  I am no expert and know that some European organs have different dispositions of the manuals but they are usually configured to the the conventional UK layout when installed here. This one is from the Italian firm, Ahlborn, dated 1988, using the Bradford computing synthesised sound. 
Does anyone know whether this is usual, or whether perhaps there has been an electrical switchover somehow?   It is certainly confusing to play! The organ does need some attention, failed contacts etc, but otherwise is not bad for a church that can't afford a new model. 
Damian

#2 LoneM

LoneM

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 694 posts
  • Member: 894763

Posted 24 August 2021 - 14:26

Our church has a much later Ahlborn, from about 2004 - it’s possible to set it up as you describe. Presumably some people have a reason to do this. Can you/they find an instruction manual?

#3 fsharpminor

fsharpminor

Maestro

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18986 posts
  • Member: 7089
  • Heswall, Wirral (originally Keighley, Yorks)

Posted 24 August 2021 - 14:49

I have never seen an organ with the Swell below the Great ! How weird. Id be totally confused.  My profile pic is me at Liverpool Anglican Cathedral, the largest organ in the country. Imagine what would happen if the 5 manuals were all switched round.

#4 LoneM

LoneM

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 694 posts

Posted 25 August 2021 - 08:41

??? I’ve never seen a 2-manual organ where the Swell WASN’T above the Great!

#5 elemimele

elemimele

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip