#1 peterhontaru

peterhontaru

• Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Member: 899767

Posted 24 November 2020 - 22:24

Hello all,

I've made a fairly comprehensive video about my experience with the ABRSM online music theory exam and thought I should share here too. I was told a lot of people looking to progress to the grades found it helpful to see someone else's journey and it is the kind of video I wish I could've seen a while ago, which is why I made it in the first place.

It covers some positives and negatives with the ABRSM Grade 5 exam as well as tips on what I found helpful while learning for the exam and the books I studied from too. Long story short, I think the online theory exam is a great alternative to the traditional face to face exam.

Having just taken the Grade 6 performance exam in piano, I am considering making a video on that too, so please do let me know if you have any specific questions and I will ensure to include them.

If you'd like to skip through, here's a timeline: 
Timestamps: 
00:00 - intro 
00:38 - context 
01:52 - negatives 
03:30 - positives 
05:43 - results 
06:55 - books 
09:12 - tips 
10:32 - summary 

I hope this is not seen as promotional as I don't get anything out of it, but have to disclaim that it is my own video. If a moderator finds this inappropriate, please remove it and I apologise in advance.

#2 mohamedmoustafa

mohamedmoustafa

• Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Member: 900554

Posted 15 December 2020 - 18:51

Hi Peter,