Photo

Any advice on dealing with a consistently late payer?

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 RPassacaglia

RPassacaglia

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 85 posts
  • Member: 894857
  • UK

Posted 14 November 2019 - 10:11

Currently I spend a couple of days a week travelling to quite a distant town to do home visits, and most of the people I visit for lessons are quite good with payment. If they pay as they go, they pay me while I am there or just before, or they pay for several lessons in advance. All payments are by bank transfer because my business account charges a fortune for any other type of payment, so I don't accept cash or cheques.

There is one particular family that I visit in this distant town, and they have two little girls I teach every week. I have been visiting them for a couple of years. The mother is always late paying me and I always have to text to remind her. She pays as she goes, by bank transfer. Eventually I got so fed up with it and reminded her that my terms and conditions clearly state that payment should be on or before the day of the lesson, and I pointed out that because I have to drive a long way to get to her, I am out of pocket until she pays me. She was incredibly apologetic, and told me that she keeps forgetting because she is so busy. The next lesson she sat down while I was teaching her girls and made the payment on her phone, there and then, as it should be. Since then, several weeks have passed and she has gone back to being late and needing reminders. The latest: after last week's lesson I sent her a text reminder three days after the lesson, which is showing as read, and I have had no response or payment. Now six days have passed and I have sent another reminder, but have still received no payment. The next lesson is tomorrow and as it is a long distance to travel without being paid, I'm not sure what to do.