#1 jonPiano

jonPiano

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Member: 481980

Posted 29 June 2014 - 22:24

Hi All! I could do with some of your collective wisdom

I've been asked to play some background piano music at an event where people will be chatting over the music and milling around. It's an informal event with a relaxed dress code.

I just need to some help with what to play! They're looking for blues/jazz but couldn't be more specific, I'm assuming some form of cocktail bar piano style. My background is in classical, I am at ABRSM diploma level.

I am looking for some recommendations of jazz standards including where I can get some pdfs etc of them which are not completely reliant on improvisation!

So far I have

Strange Meadow Lark - Dave Brubeck

The Man I Love - Gershwin

Moon River

Don't know why - Jesse Harris

Skylark

I would welcome any recommendations! Also whether anyone has any experience with this style and manner of performance, do you have any tips? This is all new to me!

#2 agricola

agricola

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1809 posts
  • Member: 545

Posted 30 June 2014 - 07:07

Depending on where you live your central public library can be a good source of albums of songs from the 20s/30s/40s -- Gershwin, Cole Porter etc.  It can take a while to learn this type of repertoire though so as you will be playing in the background I would make no bones about simplifying textures to suit yourself.  Otherwise you can end up doing a lot of work for one event. 

#3 JimD

JimD

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 484 posts
  • Member: 159407
  • Washington UK

Posted 30 June 2014 - 07:31