Photo

Was told that Grade 8 means nothing. Thoughts?

• Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#1 playthestatic

playthestatic

• Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Member: 50604
  • Singapore

Posted 10 November 2014 - 10:30

Hello everyone,

I'm not sure if this is a good forum to post this, but if any moderators are around, feel free to move it.

Yesterday, I read a post on a classical forum that quite upset me. It was in response to a thread I created, quite lightheartedly, about being an oboe player who was thinking about casually picking up the saxophone. I mentioned that I was an amateur had done my Grade 8 exam some years ago and had been playing in some orchestras, thinking that this would give a rough gauge of my experience so that I might get some useful advice.

I received this scathing reply.

"Just another slight bit of information that you need to know. Because grade 8 is an elementary exam any orchestral music that you play will be well beyond your ability to make a close interpretation of what the composer intended. For a good interpretation you need to be a professional player. Grade 8 is not next to the standards needed to be a professional player as I said before it is an elementary exam and professional players are experts.