#1 HarpyMum

HarpyMum

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Member: 222758

Posted 10 March 2011 - 15:55

Hi there
I was just wondering if anyone is about to take grade 4 harp? I am new to this forum, I am 13 and , I have been playing for 2 yrs 4 months, I always get worried about the Aural part of the exam,
I would love to hear from you
Emily-Lou

#2 Collyermum

Collyermum

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • Member: 68406
  • North-east

Posted 10 March 2011 - 18:07

Hi Emily-Lou

Sounds like you are doing great! I am hoping to take grade 4 as my first exam in about a year. What pieces are you doing? I am planning on doing Scarborough Fair and the Bach prelude in C and and Alberti Study.

I haven't started working on the aural yet, sorry. They have changed it so much since I last did it for my flute exams that I'm sure it will be all different, and my singing exams were Trinity which is different again. But it isn't my favourite thing either! At least it has the least marks allocated of anything. I haven't looked at the sight reading either yet - I'm not sure about coping with that on the harp yet! I can read it ok but placing might be a major challenge on the go!

All the best, do let me know what you are playing and what harp you are using. I have a Triplett Signature lever harp with 36 strings at the moment. I might get a pedal harp one day.

Katherine.

#3 Shaolin_monkey

Shaolin_monkey

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Member: 10075

Posted 12 March 2011 - 00:49

I'm doing Grade 4 - my exam is on April 1st.

I am doing the Prelude, O'er the Sea to Ske and Pozzoli no. 14.

The first one is fine - I've been playing that on and off for about three years, and love it, which comes across in my playing.

The second is ok, but the middle bit where it changes to G harmonic minor sometimes throws me a bit.