Photo

Am I the only one with few high grade pupils?

Whats changed?

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Latin pianist

Latin pianist

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3752 posts
  • Member: 711500
  • Cotswolds

Posted 19 June 2019 - 19:31

I've been teaching for 35 years and apart from when I started and when I moved to a new area so had mainly beginners, I've always had a good mix of levels in my students. But over the last 3 or 4 years I've found that I have hardly any post grade 5 pupils and I have a lot of grade 1 and below. I teach in a prep school where you wouldn't expect really high grades but whereas when I first taught there, y8 students had reached grade 4 or 5, I'm lucky if they've reached grade 2. At the comprehensive I get lots start in y8 then give up at y10 because of schoolwork. And at home my higher grade pupils have started just wanting to play Einaudi or La la land! I have got a few higher grade ones, but no one above grade 6. I don't think my teaching's changed but I find I'm having to work hard at keeping people playing. Is it just me?

#2 Banjogirl

Banjogirl

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2849 posts
  • Member: 39509

Posted 19 June 2019 - 19:54

Our old piano teacher is exactly the same. Lots of pupils, but few higher grades either because they never get there or they start too late to get there. She's not had a grade eight since my second son twelve years ago.

#3 ma non troppo

ma non troppo

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1414 posts
  • Member: 76027

Posted 19 June 2019 - 20:00

I am currently having a huge spate of grade 8s, but most of them are adults. Yes, things have changed. I teach far more adults than I used to.

#4 Latin pianist

Latin pianist

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3752 posts
  • Cotswolds

Posted 19 June 2019 - 20:13