Juan Carlos

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Member: 24519
  • Padua (Italy)

Posted 24 June 2019 - 14:32

After a long break from the piano – 2½ years with the occasional practice session(s) for one or a few days – I have been practising regularly for about 2 weeks now. I understand mine is a truly psychological problem. It so happens that when negative thoughts of discouragement and frustration creep in, I tend to think the piano is not for me and from there I go on to stop playing altogether.

I’m at about 7ish – 8ish level and am resuming Bach’s Prelude in D minor and studying Prelude XX (Well-tempered Klavier) plus a Rondo by Mozart, an alternative piece in the Grade 8 2019-2020 piano syllabus. Resuming the pieces I was studying, scales and arpeggios wasn’t that hard as I have good memory – that is certainly not my weak point – and the 10 years I studied with great discipline now stand me in good stead.

I was wondering if anybody can suggest an ‘easy’ piece (I mean one that does not make you crazy!) from List C in the 2019-2020 piano syllabus (Grade 8) that I can consider tackling. That is the list whose pieces I always take time to fall in love with and I am in need of advice.

#2 Dr. Rogers

Dr. Rogers

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Member: 898997

Posted 24 June 2019 - 15:09

Greetings.  I really hope you stick with it this time.  I fully understand those feelings of discouragement and frustration - try not to let them get to you.  When they attack me, I think about the reasons why I'm playing piano in the first place.

Regarding the List C pieces, if I were in your shoes, I would go straight to Chopin's Nocturne in G minor, Op. 37 No. 1. 

Debussy's Voiles would probably be my second choice, with the Rach Elegie and Brahms Intermezzo tied for third.  I might also look into the the Gershwin.