jenny

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2834 posts
  • Member: 7686
  • Manchester

Posted 02 July 2019 - 10:31

A lesson yesterday with an adult pupil took a very unexpected turn and I'd appreciate advice from others. He's been having lessons with me for just over two years, was a complete beginner when he started and has been the most hard working, enthusiastic adult pupil I've ever taught. He bought himself a very good digital piano and right from the start was practising for at least an hour a day, often getting up early in the morning to practise before going to work. He became very interested in theory, as many adults do, and took Grade 4 recently, having passed Grade 3 last November with 100 marks. On the practical side, he started with an adult tutor book, but then progressed to using quite a wide range of other books so that he was introduced to different genres and composers. He has done a lot of work on scales and sight reading but has not been thinking about taking practical exams.

He arrived for his lesson yesterday and seemed rather subdued and a bit 'down', so we chatted about how his week had gone and how he was feeling. He told me that he feels as though he's lost his enthusiasm for playing, although he insisted that he definitely wants to keep playing and having lessons. We discussed various ways of trying to remedy this and I suggested bringing more structure into his practice sessions, which he seemed to agree with. But I have to admit that I was very taken aback and am now trying to think of ways to help him. I know that he feels that his sight reading is holding him back from playing pieces that he would like to play, which is something that most pupils feel. It's obvious that after his 'flying start' he has now plateaued and I need to find ways of getting him past this and get the passion back into his practising,