#1 YellowLemon77

YellowLemon77

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Member: 897222
  • South Wales

Posted 20 January 2019 - 20:29

As the title says. Anybody joining me? I am doing Grade 2 this March.

Hoping my nerves are slightly better this time given I now know what to expect.

Still detest the sight-reading element and wish ABRSM would give 1 minute to prepare instead of 30 seconds.

#2 dynari

dynari

• Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Member: 899386
  • Penarth

Posted 21 January 2019 - 08:55

I'm doing my Grade 5 in March - it will be my first piano exam!

I see you're in South Wales - what centre are you using? I'm going to Cardiff Central.

I'm also worried about nerves. Normally I don't have an issue with performance anxiety (I'm a lecturer), but I completely lost it in my UK driving exam and was shaking so badly I could barely start the car. (I did not pass.) I wasn't expecting that to happen at all so didn't know how to handle it and am hoping the same doesn't happen at the piano exam! 

Doing practice performances of you exam pieces in front of new people apparently helps a lot. You get more exposure to the adrenaline-fueled performance aspect and start to gain confidence with managing it. If you're not far from me (I'm in Penarth), maybe we should play for each other as performance practice before our exams!

#3 YellowLemon77

YellowLemon77

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • South Wales

Posted 21 January 2019 - 09:56

Hi Dynari!

Sorry to year about your nerves. Like you, I have no anxiety around public speaking or even singing in front of folk but my Grade 1 exam threw me for a loop!

Nerves are not a bad thing but they got out of control during my G1 exam. I hope its not so bad for G2 now that I have accepted that I will be nervous. The key is - like you say - to "perform" as often as possible in front of others and practise managing the nerves so to speak.