BabyGrand

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 786 posts
  • Member: 144315
  • UK

Posted 17 July 2019 - 10:23

I have a young  student who I've been teaching for about about 3 years.  He started in a group musicianship (Kodaly) class with me, and then switched to private voice lessons, where we have continued with musicianship and gradually introduced some work on vocal technique etc, as appropriate for his age.  I also set him some straightforward "homework" and songs/activities to practise at home each week.  He has never done much practice, and homework was rarely done the week it was set (if at all), but he loved his lessons and I knew there were some difficulties at home, so I have persevered. 

However, over the past few months practice/homework has all but ceased entirely, and I am finding it difficult to work with him in lessons because all I can do is go over the same things again and again, because he never reaches a point where we can move on.  I warned him (and his parents) that if things didn't improve, lessons would have to stop at the end of the school year, and there has been no real change.  He apparently loves music/singing and doesn't want to stop, but that's not enough to induce him to do anything at home.  His parents don't practise with him but do remind him every day and try to support him, and he just refuses to do it.  There are also some behavioural issues, which I have no problem dealing with (it's rarely an issue in lessons now, though I know it still is at home), and it's not something I would ever stop lessons over, but it does add to the general sense of fatigue I have over his lessons.  Put simply, teaching him is hard work!