Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Ebay Violin Listing
Forums > Viva Network > Viva Strings
Andy-piano-flute
Anyone else seen this on eBay??
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vie...bayphotohosting[/url]
Do you think anyone will pay £20,000 for it??
Pudding
I was recently talking to someone who had a Viola in for repair. The owner had bought it on ebay for £45, it was going to cost another £50 for a repair and it had just been valued at £8,000. What a bargain!

Back to the Violin though, surely someone isn't going to fork out this amount over ebay. You surely need to see it first and know what you are doing.
nickjones8
Hmmmm .... caveat emptor

NJ
DiscoPants
That's truly hilarious. Probably worth about 10 quid for someone to practice repairs on.
AmandaL
That's a genuine Strad?! Yeah right and I'm the Pope. laugh.gif

The bloke is talking a load of "!%$*&!!! A genuine Strad would fetch half a million at the very least, even in a poor condition, so some 'local expert' supposedly saying it would be worth £100,000 in good condition, is a load of old tosh.

I've looked at and handled enough 17th and 18th century fine Italian violins to know this is a German instrument dating from sometime around the late 19th century. The varnish is not Italian, it's the wrong colour too. Strads are oil varnished and have a real golden brown ground underneath the top coat.

The whole thing shouts "I'm German, pay 20K for me if you're name is Stupid".

Look at the dodgy photography as well laugh.gif
DiscoPants
Maestro Stradivari must have been having a very bad day at the office when he cut those f-holes!
I wonder if the seller is just a downright liar or is sadly delusional in some way?
AmandaL
QUOTE(DiscoPants @ Jun 15 2008, 04:14 PM) *
I wonder if the seller is just a downright liar or is sadly delusional in some way?
With ebay, it's difficult to know which.
Violin Hero
I am never gonna fork out more than £200 through ebay for a violin.

You can get a genuine bargin though wth a little resotration of course.

That listing needs to be removed though and the person banned for blatant fraud.
AlisonS
You would think that someone with that amount of money to spend on a violin would give it some thought. (There is an offer on it, but the amount is hidden).

I once spotted some relatively hard-to-buy sheet music on ebay. A potential buyer asked "Who is the composer?" and the seller answered "Urtext"!
noodle
THIS IS AN ANTON STRADERARIOUS VIOLIN Anton Who???? laugh.gif Made in Hong Kong presumably!

IT HAS NOW BOW ONLY TWO ORIGINAL STRINGS WHICH ARE BROKEN AND IT HAS THE ODD FEW SCRATCHES Original strings my ^%&£*&!! Looks like more than a few scratches to me.

IF THERE IS NO INTEREST BY WEDNESDAY IT WILL GO TO MY LOCAL ANTIQUES AUCTION WHERE I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THERE WILL BE STACKS OF OF INTEREST FOR IT AS THESE ARE LIKE GOLD PIGS! *sees gold pigs flying past window*

Thanks apf but I think I'll give this one a miss! I see someone has put in an offer, wonder how much? The seller has declined it!

Malone
2 offers now - I might put in an offer for a fiver!

Ok, just offered him £2 and he has declined sad.gif Oh well..... laugh.gif
lottie
What if some poor soul out there takes it seriously? There's nowhere to report a fraudulant listing (I've looked). I hate seeing chancers like this get away with things and this one might. I suppose it's none of my business really.

A couple of years ago I bought a violin on ebay for £35. I took it to my Dad (who knows a thing or two wink.gif ) and he said it wasn't worth a fiver! So I put it back on ebay and it sold for about £38!! Never again! ... but Yitamusic do have some nice violins....
noodle
QUOTE(lottie @ Jun 15 2008, 10:11 PM) *

What if some poor soul out there takes it seriously? There's nowhere to report a fraudulant listing (I've looked). I hate seeing chancers like this get away with things and this one might.
I've reported it. Doesn't look as if he's going to sell it! rolleyes.gif

malone - sorry he declined your offer! laugh.gif
organgrinder
Well thankfully it didn't sell.
nickjones8
QUOTE(organgrinder @ Jun 16 2008, 12:14 AM) *

Well thankfully it didn't sell.


there are some seemingly genuine old fiddles on ebay though (as oppsoed to sellers who are just on the fiddle...)

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/OLD-ITALIAN-VIOLIN-B...idZp1638Q2em124

Opinions?

nick
lottie
QUOTE(nickjones8 @ Jun 16 2008, 10:59 AM) *



That's very pretty. But why would anyone pay that for a violin without trying it out first? blink.gif
AmandaL
QUOTE(lottie @ Jun 16 2008, 02:38 PM) *

QUOTE(nickjones8 @ Jun 16 2008, 10:59 AM) *



That's very pretty. But why would anyone pay that for a violin without trying it out first? blink.gif
No, but that's my personal opinion. Very pretty to look at doesn't mean it's worth playing. Italian violins at lesser prices come in two categories, those which are players instruments and those that are collectors. There are of course those which fall into both - Stradivari, de Gesu, Storioni etc. etc. but of course they also fall into a financial bracket of their very own.......
elidatrading
Hope a Nigerian Scammer gets him!
AmandaL
QUOTE(elidatrading @ Jun 16 2008, 04:46 PM) *
Hope a Nigerian Scammer gets him!
laugh.gif agree.gif {please send details of current condition, final price and payment. I will ensure funds are transfered from to your bank account}.
noodle
QUOTE(AmandaL @ Jun 16 2008, 05:06 PM) *

QUOTE(elidatrading @ Jun 16 2008, 04:46 PM) *
Hope a Nigerian Scammer gets him!
laugh.gif agree.gif {please send details of current condition, final price and payment. I will ensure funds are transfered from to your bank account}.
laugh.gif Maybe he is a Nigerian scammer.....
AmandaL
QUOTE(noodle @ Jun 16 2008, 09:56 PM) *
QUOTE(AmandaL @ Jun 16 2008, 05:06 PM) *
QUOTE(elidatrading @ Jun 16 2008, 04:46 PM) *
Hope a Nigerian Scammer gets him!
laugh.gif agree.gif {please send details of current condition, final price and payment. I will ensure funds are transfered from to your bank account}.
laugh.gif Maybe he is a Nigerian scammer.....
From the poorly written ebay description, that thought crossed my mind as well!
organgrinder
It has been relisted!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
lottie
QUOTE(organgrinder @ Jun 17 2008, 08:56 PM) *

It has been relisted!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


blink.gif wacko.gif Greed. It's a sad thing.

How do you complain on ebay because I really think this guy shouldn't be allowed to list it like this?
DiscoPants
QUOTE(lottie @ Jun 18 2008, 07:08 AM) *

QUOTE(organgrinder @ Jun 17 2008, 08:56 PM) *

It has been relisted!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


blink.gif wacko.gif Greed. It's a sad thing.

How do you complain on ebay because I really think this guy shouldn't be allowed to list it like this?



Unfortunately, I think the present listing just about avoids breaking ebay rules. The listing is quite devious, referring to valuations of £60.000 and £100.000. These are clearly intended to be "interpreted" in the context of the listing as £60,000 and £100,000, but he could legitimately say he meant £60 and £100 if any unfortunate buyer came back at him.
Honestly though, can you really see anyone falling for this?
Scurra
I don' know if anyone's been on elida_trading's website, but it's great - there's a whole section of violins/clarinets like this!


Look in the Chamber of Horrors section...
rosfrog
I contacted him and asked him why he was selling a german fiddle as an Italian masterpiece, pointing out that the two 'original' strings were looking well for 300 years and that the varnish was slightly wrong in colour, the f holes were a little dodgy and that, if he had a real strad he would know by the queue of dealers outside his door clamouring to buy it (especially at 12,000). I suggested that he have it appraised. He contacted me saying he had had it appraised, so I asked him why the dealer didn't want to buy or restore it - he told me I was a sad w##nker who should get a life...

I'm very upset by his scathing repartee and I'm definitely not buying his 'jenyuwin stradheefairyhoos' how. biggrin.gif
ffliwt
What an idiot.
Someone should show him this thread so he realises how stupid he's being and that he's not fooling anyone!
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.